LIBERTY 3- PLAYER GAME

First, there are 3 assumptions that these rules are based on. One, it is assumed that the
French want to intervene at some point, to help the US gain independence and to gain
revenge against the British by taking back some of their territory lost during the French
and Indian/Seven Years War. Second, it will be assumed that the French won't openly
intervene until the Declaration of Independence or some such official break has occurred,
which will occur in 1776. Third, we will take as a given that the US wants French help,
and therefore won’t reject their offer to intervene.

The French player has no role until he decides to intervene, which he can do at the start
of any year beginning with 1777. There is no random roll. The year of entry will
determine how many points the French will need to control to defeat the British. If they
enter in 1777, they need 8 points. If they enter in 1778 or 1779, they need 6 points. If
they enter in 1780-1783, they need 5 points. The French can only count points in the
West Indies and in Canada. However, there is no automatic victory or defeat for the
French. Their status is determined when the US-British war ends, either through an
automatic victory by the British or US, or at the end of 1783. At that moment, determine
how many points the French control.

Once the French enter, the British no longer count West Indies points toward defeating
the Americans. Because of that, they only need 26 points to defeat the US once the
French enter. The British are defeated if their total drops below 8 points. If using the
Optional rules, the British and Americans get a Draw Result if the British hold 21-25
points at the end of 1783.

Once the war ends (due to British/US automatic victory or the end of 1783), the players
then determine who won the overall game. This is determined by comparing Success
points. The US gets 3 Success points if they defeat the British. The British get 2 Success
points if they defeat the US, and they get 2 Success points if they defeat the French, for a
maximum total of 4 points. The French get 2 Success points if they defeat the British,
and 1 Success point if the US defeats the British, for a maximum total of 3 points. (Note
— if the French remain out of the game, neither the British nor the French player receive
any points for their war. But such a result is unlikely.) If using the optional Draw Result,
the British and US players both get 1 Success point each if their war ends in a draw.

If the French and US tie with Success points, they are co-winners. If the British and
French tie, they share a Draw, but neither wins. In that case, the US player loses.

(Thus, there are 4 basic possible results. The US and French defeat the British, giving
them both 3 points [a shared victory] and the British no points. The US defeats the
British but the French are defeated by the British [historical result], giving the US 3
points [winner], the British 2, and the French 1. The French defeat the British but the US
is defeated by the British, giving the French 2 points, the British 2 points [they share a
Draw], and the US no points. Finally, the British could defeat them both, giving the
British 4 points [winner] while the French and US get no points. You could play 3 games

© Copyright 2004 Columbia Games, Inc. www.columbiagames.com



with each player getting a turn as each country, and then add up each player’s Success
points for an overall champion. If using the Optional Draw Result rule, then the
permutations are more varied.)

Once the French intervene, they select which card to use each turn and they control which
player (American or French) gets to use the available Action and Supply points (they can
of course consult and mutually decide). This represents the massive logistical support
(money and supplies) sent by the French into the US. Action and Supply points are used
normally. For example, if they draw a 3 Action card, the French player can assign the
first Action point for the American to use, then when the American is done, the French
player decides who gets the second, and when it is done, he picks who uses the third.

The players can use the assigned points as they please, according to the normal rules.
Neither the French nor the American player can ever move the other player’s blocks or
add a step to the other player’s blocks. If there is a mixed stack of French and American
blocks, one player can use an Action point to activate the stack, but the American and
French players move their own blocks. They can, of course, jointly decide how to use
them. Both players also determine how to use their own blocks in combat. When French
and American blocks share a supply town in the Winter, the French player determines
how town supply is used, and if there are French and American leaders, the French player
determines which can use its supply bonus. If French and American blocks jointly
capture a Red town in Canada, the French count it toward their Victory point total. The
British lose those points as well when determining how many points they control in their
war against the US. The French can only count points in Canada if there is a French
block in that town when the war ends. Either player can agree to a Prisoner Exchange
with the British, but only for their own blocks. If using the Optional Rules, if a player
uses a Supply card for a Prisoner Exchange, he can pick any unit in the eliminated pile.

Otherwise, all rules remain the same.

Possible Overall Results:

US Win(3) Win (3) Lose (0) Lose (0)

Fr Win (3) Lose (1) Win (2) Lose (0)

Br Lose/Lose (0) Lose/Win (2) Win/Lose (2) Win/Win (4)
USandFrench  US wins. British and French  British win
Jointly win share a Draw

US  Draw (1) Draw (1)

Fr Win (2) Lose (0)

Br Draw/Lose (1) Draw/Win (3)

French win British win
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So why would the French wait to enter the war? Well, if they enter a losing situation,
they can compound the loss, if players are going to keep track of points over several
games. If the French remain out when it is clear the American is going to lose, then the
most the British can get is 2 Success points. If the French enter and get caught up in the
defeat, the British player can rack up 4 points. On the other hand, if the US reverses the
situation, and it looks like they could win after all, then the French want to get in on the
game. If they stay out and the American wins on his own, he gets 3 points while the
French would get just 1 for the US victory. But, if the French enter and also win, they
would share victory with 3 points as well. So what we recreate here is the pressure that
the French faced. They do not want to get caught up in a losing war, but certainly want
to share in any US victory.

Of course, the French have to be careful. If the British are losing against the US when
the French enter, the British might just turn their wrath against the French and at least go
for second place and 2 Success points by crushing the French empire (which is what
ultimately happened historically). Thus, entering in 1777 could guarantee a British
emphasis on the French war, if the British player judges that victory against the American
will be impossible. If the British player puts the war against America on hold to deal
with the French, the French could be smashed quickly. And if the French are decimated,
and lose several pieces quickly, then the British might be able to return his attention to
American and recoup the situation there as well. Thus, the French player has to be very
careful about the timing of his intervention.
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